We want to improve our cities.

The Urban Change Academy is the training platform for future-oriented urban development issues. In our interdisciplinary program, we provide ambitious city makers with hands-on knowledge and tools to shape the future of our cities.

The first academy for anyone
who wants to drive change in cities.

We target individuals, teams and organizations in the following areas:
  • Municipal and city administrations
  • Politics, organizations and foundations
  • Real estate and finance
  • Companies operating in cities
  • Infrastructure development, urban planning and design
  • Civic education
Behind The Scenes

Together for better cities.

The Urban Change Academy is an initiative of:

urbanista is one of the leading offices for participatory urban development and urban futurology.

Futur A supports companies, organizations and public institutions in discovering, designing and realizing the future.

IT'S THE GLUE creates spaces for inspiration and innovation at the intersection of culture, technology and industry.

An interdisciplinary team for new perspectives in urban development.

© Sarah Russ

Patricia Da Costa

As a cultural scientist as well as a communication and media scientist with an ethnographic perspective, Patricia Da Costa is particularly interested in (urban) spaces as an expression and condition of social action. With her interdisciplinary background, she has been responsible for community management at the Urban Change Academy since 2020 and develops publication formats, such as recently the playbook for the post-Corona city "Urban Creativity Now!". In addition, Patricia joined urbanista in 2021 as a project associate in the areas of urban development, urban research, and participation. "Urban Creativity Now!". Daneben ist Patricia seit 2021 bei urbanista als Projektmitarbeiterin in den Bereichen Stadtentwicklung, Stadtforschung und Partizipation tätig.

© Doris Sibum

Doris Sibum

Doris Sibum is a futurologist and trained business coach. With her diverse and field-tested methodological knowledge, she has specialized in urban foresight and the future of work with her brand "Futur A" since 2016. In her long-term oriented scenario projects and trend analyses, she primarily focuses on the city of the future. Doris is co-founder of the Urban Change Academy and is involved as shareholder and chair of the supervisory board of the IZT - Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment gGmbH in Berlin. Even before becoming self-employed, Doris worked as a researcher in the field of futurology: First with a focus on politics and administration and then on business, most recently for six years as Vice President at Deutsche Post DHL Group with responsibility for the Group's entire national and international market research.

© Yvonne Schmedemann

Matthias Weber

Matthias Weber is a graduate of the Digital Bauhaus. He works with his strategy consultancy IT'S THE GLUE at the intersection of culture, technology and business. Matthias is active for the city of Hamburg, among others, promoting the development of innovations that embrace social responsibility. With the exchange project 040x040, he has been investigating urban innovations between Hamburg and Malmö since 2015. He is particularly interested in overcoming boundaries in thinking, disciplines and cultures.

Julian Petrin

Julian Petrin

With his office urbanista, Julian Petrin advises municipalities, companies and urban institutions in urban change processes. His work focuses on co-creation, strategic development concepts and vision processes. As a professor for Smart City Solutions, he currently teaches at the HfT Stuttgart. Julian is the founder of the participatory urban laboratory Nexthamburg.

Sven Lohmeyer

Sven Lohmeyer is a specialist for co-creative urban development at urbanista in Hamburg. His focus includes development concepts and visions for the city of the future, strategic process consulting and the development of playful workshop and participation methods. During his many years at urbanista, he has been involved in various projects, either in a leading role or as project manager - such as the future concept for Offenbach's inner city or, at the moment, the Kiel 2042 project.

Tobias Hage

Tobias Hage

Tobias Hage first studied renewable energies and then urban and spatial planning. Since 2021, he has been working as an urban planner at urbanista and additionally supports the Urban Change Academy in the areas of web design, development and the technical implementation of the website and offers. On the side, Tobias also works as a self-employed photographer for private and business clients.

Wir wollen unsere Städte besser machen.

Die Urban Change Academy ist die Weiterbildungsplattform rund um Zukunftsfragen der Stadtentwicklung. In unseren interdisziplinären Angeboten geben wir ambitionierten Stadtmacher*innen handfestes Wissen und Werkzeuge an die Hand, um unsere Städte fit für die Zukunft zu machen.

Die erste Academy für alle,
die Veränderungen in Städten vorantreiben wollen.

Wir richten uns an Einzelpersonen, Teams und Organisationen aus den Bereichen:
  • Kommunale und städtische Verwaltung
  • Politik, Verbände und Stiftungen
  • Immobilien- und Finanzwirtschaft
  • Unternehmen, die in Städten aktiv sind
  • Infrastrukturentwicklung, Stadtplanung und Design
  • Politische Bildung
Behind The Scenes

Gemeinsam für bessere Städte.

Die Urban Change Academy ist eine Initiative von:

urbanista ist eines der führenden Büros für partizipative Stadtentwicklung und urbane Zukunftsforschung.

Futur A unterstützt Unternehmen, Organisationen und öffentliche Einrichtungen dabei, Zukunft zu entdecken, zu entwerfen und zu erreichen.

IT’S THE GLUE schafft Räume für Inspiration und Innovation an der Schnittstelle von Kultur, Technologie und Wirtschaft.

Ein interdisziplinäres Team für neue Perspektiven in der Stadtentwicklung.

© Sarah Russ

Patricia Da Costa

Als Kulturwissenschaftlerin sowie Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaftlerin mit ethnografischer Perspektive interessiert sich Patricia Da Costa besonders für (urbane) Räume als Ausdruck und Bedingung sozialen Handelns. Mit ihrem interdisziplinären Hintergrund ist sie bei der Urban Change Academy seit 2020 für das Community Management zuständig und entwickelt Publikationsformate, wie zuletzt das Playbook für die Post-Corona-Stadt "Urban Creativity Now!". Daneben ist Patricia seit 2021 bei urbanista als Projektmitarbeiterin in den Bereichen Stadtentwicklung, Stadtforschung und Partizipation tätig.

© Doris Sibum

Doris Sibum

Doris Sibum ist Zukunftsforscherin und ausgebildeter Business Coach. Mit ihrem vielfältigen und praxiserprobten Methodenwissen ist sie seit 2016 mit ihrer Marke „Futur A“ auf Urban Foresight und die Zukunft der Arbeit spezialisiert. Sie hat in ihren langfristig orientierten Szenarioprojekten und Trendanalysen vor allem die Stadt von übermorgen im Blick. Doris ist Mitgründerin der Urban Change Academy und engagiert sich als Gesellschafterin und Vorsitzende des Aufsichtsrats des IZT – Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung gGmbH in Berlin. Schon vor ihrer Selbständigkeit war Doris als wissenschaftliche Zukunftsforscherin tätig: Erst mit dem Fokus auf Politik und Verwaltung und dann auf Wirtschaft, zuletzt sechs Jahre als Vice President im Konzern Deutsche Post DHL mit Verantwortung für die gesamte nationale und internationale Marktforschung des Konzerns.

© Yvonne Schmedemann

Matthias Weber

Matthias Weber ist Absolvent des Digital Bauhaus. Er arbeitet mit seiner Strategieberatung IT’S THE GLUE an der Schnittstelle von Kultur, Technologie und Wirtschaft. Matthias ist u.a. für die Stadt Hamburg aktiv und fördert die Entwicklung von Innovationen, die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung übernehmen. Mit dem Austauschprojekt 040x040 untersucht er seit 2015 urbane Innovationen zwischen Hamburg und Malmö. Er interessiert sich besonders für die Überwindung von Grenzen in Denken, Disziplinen und Kulturen.

Julian Petrin

Julian Petrin

Julian Petrin berät mit seinem Büro urbanista Kommunen, Unternehmen und urbane Institutionen in Veränderungsprozessen von Stadt. Schwerpunkte seiner Arbeit sind Co-Kreation, strategische Entwicklungskonzepte und Visionsprozesse. Als Professor für Smart City Solutions lehrt er aktuell an der HfT Stuttgart. Julian ist Gründer des partizipativen Stadtlabors Nexthamburg.

Sven Lohmeyer

Sven Lohmeyer ist Spezialist für co-kreative Stadtentwicklung bei urbanista in Hamburg. Zu seinen Schwerpunkten zählen Entwicklungskonzepte und Visionen für die Stadt von morgen, strategische Prozessberatungen und die Entwicklung von spielerischen Workshop- und Partizipationsmethoden. Während seiner langjährigen Mitarbeit bei urbanista hat er an verschiedenen Projekten inhaltlich federführend oder als Projektleiter mitgewirkt – wie beim Zukunftskonzept Innenstadt Offenbach oder zurzeit im Projekt Kiel 2042.

Tobias Hage

Tobias Hage

Tobias Hage studierte erst Erneuerbare Energien und anschließend Stadt- und Raumplanung. Seit 2021 arbeitet er als Stadtplaner bei urbanista und unterstützt zusätzlich die Urban Change Academy in den Bereichen Webdesign, Konzeption und bei der technischen Umsetzung von Website und Angeboten. Nebenberuflich ist Tobias zudem als selbstständiger Fotograf im Privat- und Geschäftskundenbereich tätig.